All

"Real" spam emails and how to deal with them?

Submitted by Gryffyx on Fri, 2007-12-07 22:57.

Recently, I have started to receive a lot of emails that start out with something like "This may be a shot in the dark, but I'm hoping you may be interested in or know someone that is interested in this position..."

( categories: | )

Pluggin' your zip code in!

Submitted by Gryffyx on Mon, 2007-10-22 22:36.

CyberCoders
42 Discovery
Irvine, CA 92618
info@cybercoders.com
ph: 866.421.0200
fx: 949.885.5150
Various recruiters

I received this email some time ago:

********************************

( categories: | )

Contractors I have Known (and blocked)

Submitted by Gryffyx on Tue, 2007-10-16 22:26.

Most of the job boards allow you to block certain employers from finding your resume. The reasons vary a lot, from you don't want your current employer finding out that you're looking for a new job, to the fact that some of the users of job boards are useless and generally make themselves annoying.

( categories: | )

When Recruiters Spam Sysadmins

Submitted by drewzhrodague on Thu, 2007-04-12 16:33.

What a bizarre concept it is to be a systems administrator looking for work. People have systems, and people with systems need systems administrators to make them work. Whether these systems are used for file storage, websites, or email, it is the systems administrator's duty to fight abuse and spam.

( categories: | )

Video Resumes - A Few Guidelines

Submitted by drewzhrodague on Wed, 2006-12-20 13:20.

I heard a story on npr.org this morning about video resumes, which made me think a little. Everyone whom I've ever talked to about resumes (except recruiters), has said that I must have one sheet, and list all of my work-related experience on one sheet -- and no picture. Now people are doing video resumes. How can they even think that could work?

I have tried almost everything with my resume: from 7 pages to 1 page, vivid descriptions, brief descriptions, different wording -- I was even going to try a picture on my next resume, maybe a few simple graphics. I wasn't thinking about anything as crazy as video.

I haven't seen my resume or my 10 years of experience work for me yet. I *still* get all of my work through word of mouth, or because I know someone. And to be honest, even when I've known someone, that doesn't mean that I will get the job. I still have to fight for it at the interviews, and on the phone. A resume has to stand out from the rest, while also showing an experienced and capable candidate.

( categories: | )

Radiant Systems - South Plainfield, NJ

Submitted by drewzhrodague on Fri, 2006-10-27 18:27.

www.radiants.com
109A Corporate Boulevard,
South Plainfield, NJ 07080
1 (908) 922 4147

( categories: | )

Recruitards - Stupid Job Ads

Submitted by drewzhrodague on Fri, 2006-10-20 16:06.

After browsing Slashdot, I found a link in this guy's tagline to Recruitards.com, which has some of the most stupid job-ads I've seen. Post your stupid job ads up there, and link to 'em here. Bad recruiters need to be shamed out of existance.

( categories: | )

Insource - King of Prussia, PA

Submitted by drewzhrodague on Sat, 2006-07-08 13:36.


500 North Gulph Road
Suite 450
King of Prussia, PA 19406
Phone: 610-592-0800
Fax: 610-592-0817
Info@insourcenow.com

( categories: | )

Additional Technical Support - Norwood, MA

Submitted by roadshopper on Fri, 2006-07-07 02:42.

Additional Technical Support, Inc.
61 Nahatan Street
Norwood, MA 02062
800-666-5601

I was contacted by Mike Govoni. When I spoke with him, he didn't really have anything other than an entry-level $19k job that was on the other side of the country. He then proceeded to quiz me in a very pushy way about if my former employers were hiring. He asked numerous times in a "So, there aren't any openings there?" type of way.

I'm unable to find a lot of information about this company. Website links in various search engines point to a job magazine of sorts, and the address looks to be an empty lot on most mapping programs. Has anyone dealt with this company?

( categories: | )

Do Med, Inc. - United Kingdom

Submitted by drewzhrodague on Thu, 2006-06-29 22:15.

Do Med, Inc. (and others)
United Kingdom
DoMED00@aol.com

This email came to my Monster.com "only" account. It had a title like an agent search result, but the domain it came from was European. It's interesting because the address in question is only used to send and receive mail from Monster.com users and contacts. It looks like someone that I've contacted has compromised it. It's a known money laundering scam, and has been seen using many different names.

( categories: | )

n/a

Seeking recruiter/recruiters to partner

Submitted by drewzhrodague on Tue, 2006-05-02 16:51.

I am seeking an agency or recruiter who is interested in chipping in for Monster, HotJobs and/or Dice or other resources. Or who currently owns these databases and is open to charging me for access to them at certain times of day. Currently, I work for/with an agency, as an independent contractor. I am seeking to strike out on my own. I would be open to working with another recruiter in a full fledged partnership, or merely in a limited alliance where we can pool resources. I am entrepeunerial, open-minded, ambitious and ethical and would be glad to furnish any interested parties with character and/or professional references.

( categories: | )
Syndicate content